Our Estate

Our estate looks back on a 350-year-old winemaking tradition. For generations, we have been managing our vineyards sustainably and as naturally as possible. The must matures slowly in more than 100-year-old oak barrels into wines of the highest quality. We make wines the way we like them most: clearly-structured, with a mineral character.

Tirolean Roots

The Pfalz, depopulated after the Thirty Years´ War, attracted large numbers of Tirolean craftsmen to settle and rebuild the region. Among them, Caspar Gabel came to Herxheim, where he founded our estate in 1655. It has been under family ownership ever since. Lisa and Oliver Gabel continue this tradition in the 13th generation. As a tribute, we have planted the South-Tirolean variety, Lagrein.

Oak Maturation

Most of our wines are matured in large wooden barrels, some of which are over 100 years old, as well as in small, new oak barrels. The gentle microoxidation enabled by the wood brings out the powerful character of the wines and provides structure. Working with old barrels requires a good deal of experience and an active exchange of expertise across generations.

Unser Weingut

Unser Weingut blickt auf eine 350-jährige Tradition zurück. Seit Generationen arbeiten wir naturnah und nachhaltig im Weinberg. In den über 100 Jahre alten Holzfässern reift der Most eines ganzen Jahres langsam zu hochwertigen Weinen heran. Wir erzeugen Weine, wie wir sie am liebsten selbst mögen: klar strukturiert und mineralisch geprägt.

Tiroler Wurzeln

Nach dem 30jährigen Krieg zog es Scharen von Tiroler Handwerkern zum Wiederaufbau in die entvölkerte Pfalz. Mit ihnen kam auch Caspar Gabel nach Herxheim, der unser Weingut 1655 begründete. Seither befindet sich das Weingut im Familienbesitz. Mit Lisa und Oliver Gabel führt mittlerweile die 13. Generation diese Tradition fort. Als Reminiszenz haben wir die Südtiroler Rebsorte Lagrein angepflanzt. 

Holzfassausbau

Den Großteil unserer Weine bauen wir in den großen Holzfässern, von denen einige mehr als 100 Jahre alt sind, und in kleinen, neuen Holzfässern aus. Die behutsame Mikrooxidation, die über das Holz stattfindet, setzt den starken Charakter der Weine perfekt in Szene und verleiht ihnen Struktur. Der Umgang mit den alten Fässern erfordert einige Erfahrung und den regen Austausch der Generationen.